Author Archives: Clark Street Sports

Sens’ MacLean, Ducks’ Boudreau, Hawks’ Quenneville are Jack Adams finalists


The nominees for this year’s Jack Adams Award are Ottawa’s Paul MacLean, Anaheim’s Bruce Boudreau, and Chicago’s Joel Quenneville, according to the NHL. The award will be given “to the NHL coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team’s success.”

Overcoming adversity is something that all teams have to do, but no one had more roadblocks than MacLean’s Senators. They lost major pieces of their team for significant portions of the season, including the reigning Norris Trophy winner, Erik Karlsson, their top two goal scorers in 2011-12, Milan Michalek and Jason Spezza, and starting goaltender Craig Anderson.

The Senators weren’t regarded as a juggernaut even when all those players were healthy and any one of those losses could have been justification for the team missing the playoffs. Instead Ottawa fought against the odds and managed to squeeze into the postseason.

Boudreau replaced Randy Carlyle as the Anaheim…

View original post 153 more words


Blackhawks 4 Red Wings 1

Three goal third period gives the Hawks a 1-0 series lead

Just like the Blackhawks first game during the Western Conference Quarterfinals, the Hawks got of to a slow start at entered the third period tied 1-1 at home. Unlike that series, the Blackhawks showed why they were the winner of the presidents trophy and scored three third period goals to give them a 4-1 victory over the Detroit Red Wings. Just as they have all season long, the Hawks received contributions from both their forwards: (Patrick Sharp (goal and 2 assists), Marian Hossa (goal), Marcus Kruger (goal), Jonathan Toews (assist), Patrick Kane (assist), Daniel Carcillo (assist)); defensemen (Johnny Oduya (game winning goal), Niklas Hjalmarsson (assist), Nick Leddy (assist)); and goaltender (Corey Crawford stoped 20 of 21 shots).

Chicago will continue their series Western Conference Semifinals Series Saturday noon at the UC as the Hawks look to take a 2-0 series lead to Detroit.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

St. Louis, Moulson, P. Kane named Lady Byng finalists


The NHL has revealed that Tampa Bay’s Martin St. Louis, the New York Islanders’ Matt Moulson, and Chicago’s Patrick Kane are the 2013 Lady Byng Memorial Trophy finalists.

The award honors “the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.” In other words, it’s for a player that excels on the ice while managing to stay out of the penalty box as much as possible.

That certainly fits St. Louis, who won the Art Ross Trophy with 60 points while spending just 14 minutes in the sin bin. He previously won this award in 2010 and 2011. This time around, he’s aiming to join Wayne Gretzky and Stan Mikita as the only players to capture both the Art Ross Trophy and Lady Byng in a single season.

St. Louis is also up for the Ted Lindsay Award

View original post 101 more words


Tags: , , , , ,

Chicago Playoff Wednesday

Bulls look to extend their season in Miami and the Hawks begin their series against the Red Wings 

Its a big night in Chicago as both the Blackhawks and Bulls are in action tonight. The Bulls will start off the night in Miami as they look to continue their season tonight in Miami at 6pm. An hour later, the Blackhawks will begin their second round series as they welcome the Detroit Red Wings to the UC.

Chicago Blackhawks & Chicago Bulls Men's Black "T.W.T.W." Tee

Chicago Blackhawks & Chicago Bulls Men’s Black “T.W.T.W.” Tee

Hawks and Bulls fans, remember to pickup all your favorite Playoff Merchandise at one of Clark Street Sports Chicagoland Locations or online throughout the NBA and NHL Playoffs.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Bring The Cup Back to Chicago

Chicago, the Blackhawks are 14 wins away from bring the Stanley Cup back to Chicago.

Chicago, the Blackhawks are 14 wins away from bring the Stanley Cup back to Chicago.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Minnesota Wild @ Chicago Blackhawks

Following a  successful regular season (ending with the President Trophy), the Chicago Blackhawks will now look to make a long run in the Stanley Cup Playoffs, hopefully ending with the Hawks hoisting the Stanley Cup for the 5th time in the history of their franchise. Chicago has received contributions from everyone on their roster, but were led by Hart Trophy Nominees Jonathan Toews and Patrick Kane along with Marian Hossa, Patrick Sharp, Calder Trophy Nominee Brandon SaadViktor Stalberg, Dave Bolland, Andrew Shaw, Bryan Bickell, Daniel Carcillo, Duncan Keith, Brent SeabrookNiklas HjalmarssonJohnny Oduya, and William Jennings Winners Corey Crawford and Ray Emery

Blackhawks fans, Clark Street Sports has all your favorite Blackhawks hats, shirts (men and women),  Jerseys, and 2013 Stanley Cup Playoff Gear as the Hawks look to once again hoist the cup in late June.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Blackhawks’ Crawford, Emery win William Jennings Trophy


It almost seems fitting that two teams with almost-as-good goaltending ended up deciding the 2013 William M. Jennings Trophy on Sunday. The Chicago Blackhawks’ surprisingly successful duo of Corey Crawford and Ray Emery won the award for the NHL’s best combined GAA, according to’s Tracey Myers.

A Boston Bruins goal against Ottawa Senators backup Robin Lehner clinched the award for Crawford and Emery.

Goalies must hit a minimum amount of games played to get their name on the trophy. Most years, they’d need to play in 25 games, but Myers explains that the lockout-shortened campaign lowered that threshold to 14 GP.

The Blackhawks finished the season with a combined 2.02 GAA, with Crawford and Emery leading most of the way. (Carter Hutton took one on the chin on Saturday when the Blackhawks basically gave their AHL team a taste of the NHL.)

Let’s glance at the seasons…

View original post 42 more words